new political culture
Iyorchia Ayu

The Peoples Democratic Party in Nigeria has elected Dr. Iyorchia Ayu, a former Senate President from Benue state in North Central Nigeria as the National Chairman-elect.

read on

After 3, 426 delegates affirmed his unopposed candidacy at the party’s convention in Abuja, Ayu was declared the winner of the national chairmanship contest.

The election results were announced in the early hours of Sunday.

In addition, Senator Samuel Anyanwu of Southeast emerged unopposed as the party’s National Secretary.

However, for the hotly contested position of Deputy National Chairman (South), Amb. Taofeek Arapaja was declared the winner after receiving 2,004 votes at the party’s convention. Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola of Arapaja received 705 votes.

Mohammed Kadade Sulieman received 3,072 votes for the position of National Youth Leader. Usman ElKudan, his closest competitor, polled 219 votes. Umar Iliya Damagum, the Deputy National Chairman (North), received 2,222 votes, defeating former Minister of Women Affairs Hajia Maryam Ina Ciroma, who received 365 votes.

Also read: Wale Oladipo, Okey Muo-Aroh, Eddy Olafeso barred from Peoples Democratic Party National Convention

Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri of Adamawa state, who announced the results as Chairman of the Convention Planning Committee and Chairman of the Convention Electoral Sub-Committee, commended party faithful for what he described as a successful National Convention.

Ahmed Yayari Mohammed, national treasurer, and Kamaldeen Adeyemi Ajibade, national legal adviser, were also elected unopposed with 3,426 votes.

Umar Bature, national organising secretary, Daniel Woyegikuro, national financial secretary, Stella Effah-Attoe, national woman leader, and Okechukwu Obiechina Daniel, national auditor, were also elected.

Setonji Koshoede was elected as the new deputy national secretary, followed by Ndubisi Eneh David as the deputy national treasurer, Ibrahim Abdullahi as the deputy national publicity secretary, Ighoyota Amori as the deputy national organizing secretary, Adamu Kamale as the deputy national financial secretary, Hajaja Yakubu Wanka as the deputy national woman leader, Timothy Osadolor as the deputy national youth leader, and Okechukwu Osu



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here