Race To Succeed Boris Johnson Begins

Conservative Members of Parliament are competing for a position in the race to succeed Boris Johnson after the prime minister stepped down as Conservative leader following a dramatic government mutiny.
Tom Tugendhat is the latest MP to enter the leadership battle, along with Attorney General Suella Braverman and Brexiteer Steve Baker who have expressed interest.
Johnson plans to remain, prime minister, until a replacement is found in the fall.
Opposition parties and some conservatives want him to leave now, but now it seems unlikely.
Johnson appointed a new cabinet formation to replace ministers who resigned in protest against his leadership and told them he will not ask them to make important political decisions until a new leader is appointed. Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown, the treasurer of the Backbench Committee of Conservative Parliamentarians in 1922, said that in an “ideal world” Deputy Prime Minister Dominic Raab would take over for a few weeks, but “that ship left.”
“We now have to live with the fact that Boris Johnson will be prime minister until it is possible to vote for a successor,” added Sir Geoffrey.
A timetable for the Tory leadership race will be confirmed next week and the new Prime Minister is expected to take office in September.
The Labor Party has threatened to try to oust the Prime Minister immediately with a vote of no confidence, although this will require significant conservative support to succeed.

read on

ALSO READ: Former Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe Assassinated

Deputy Labor Leader Angela Rayner said, “the fact that she is trying to hold out for the next few months is totally unacceptable.” Chairman of the House of Commons Foreign Affairs Committee, Mr. Tugendhat, launched his leadership bid by writing in the Daily Telegraph on Friday, promising tax cuts and ‘new energy and new ideas for the government.
“I have served before – in the army and now in Parliament. Now I hope to return to that calling as Prime Minister,” said the former soldier, who was a prominent critic of Mr. Johnson.
Attorney-General Ms. Braverman has already confirmed she will run, while former Brexit secretary Baker said he was ‘seriously considering’ running after people asked him to.
Sajid Javid, the former Health Secretary, and Transport Secretary Grant Shapps – who both rebelled against Mr. Johnson
Other candidates for the nomination include Secretary of State Liz Truss, ex-Chancellor Rishi Sunak, Secretary of Defense Ben Wallace, and ex-Secretary of State Jeremy Hunt. More statements are expected in the coming days – but some senior Tories have already said they will not stand, including former Leveling Up secretary Michael Gove, Deputy Prime Minister Dominic Raab, and former Health Secretary Matt Hancock


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here