Olisa Ndah

Victor Osimhen, a recovering Napoli forward, led the Super Eagles’ 28 man squad to the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations, which kicks off in Cameroon on January 9, 2022.

read on

Augustine Eguavoen, the interim coach of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), released a list on Saturday that included returnee Super Eagles forward Odion Jude Ighalo, as well as Skipper Ahmed Musa.

Eguavoen, a former Nigeria captain who led the Super Eagles to third place in the finals in Egypt 15 years ago, has named four goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders, and then forwards to compete in Cameroon for Nigeria’s fourth diadem.

Wilfred Ndidi, a former U17 World Cup captain, Kelechi Nwakali, forward Emmanuel Dennis, and 2016 Olympics star Sadiq Umar are also on the roster.

Goalkeepers Maduka Okoye and Francis Uzoho are also on the team, as are defenders Kenneth Omeruo, Olaoluwa Aina, and Abdullahi Shehu, midfielders Joseph Ayodele-Aribo and Chidera Ejuke, and forwards Moses Simon, Odion Ighalo, and Samuel Chukwueze.

Eguavoen will lead the senior Nigerian team to Cameroon, where Portuguese Coach Jose Paseiro is expected to be in attendance.

In the northern town of Garoua, the Eagles will face seven-time and record winners Egypt, Sudan, and debutants Guinea Bissau, with a mouth-watering clash with the Pharaohs in the group opener on Tuesday, January 11, 2022, requiring the Eagles to get off to a fast start.

With the exception of the UK-based crew, all invited players are expected to arrive in camp in Nigeria’s federal capital, Abuja, on December 29th, with the UK based players expected to arrive on Monday, January 3rd

Also read: Premier League postpone Liverpool’s match against Leeds United

The individuals who were invited
Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); and Abdullahi Shehu (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland) Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa).

Midfielders include Frank Onyeka of Brentford FC in England, Joseph Ayodele-Aribo of Glasgow Rangers in Scotland, Wilfred Ndidi of Leicester City in England, Chidera Ejuke of CSKA Moscow in Russia, and Kelechi Nwakali of Leicester City in England (SD Huesca, Spain).

Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Emirates FC (Watford FC, England).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here